top of page

FINE ART

LOREN CARR

  • Writer's pictureLoren Carr

Fine Art in Society - Own Artwork Reflection

Updated: May 16, 2019

•These framed paintings, painting on canvas and beginning of sculptures are the works that I have been currently producing for my exhibition. The six framed paintings took inspiration from the collages I had previously made. I used the shapes to come up with different compositions and colours. The paintings look like they are layered however, only one layer of acrylic paint has been applied. Some of the shapes are distorted. I have took colours from previous work and experimented with different shades of the colours. The colours are pastel tones which contrast with some darker colours. The large canvas painting was the next step from my paper paintings. It has a busy composition just like the paper paintings. It is acrylic on canvas, has a busy composition overall and has bright and pastel colours. It includes continuous shapes and joining shapes together. The two sculptures I have created are different shaped pieces of wood painted in different colours of acrylic paint. The wooden shapes are taken from different shapes in the paintings and I have used the same colours as the paintings to compliment and have a relationship with them. I have painted them in one layer just like the paintings and it gives a nice look as the wood texture is still visible. The idea for the sculptures was to turn the paintings into 3d sculptures. The artist I have been inspired by is Richard Tuttle, he makes abstract sculptures and paintings and works with materials and colour. In my crit, I displayed these works and was given lots of helpful feedback. Artists such as Thomas Scheibitz, Franz Ackermann, Joanne Tatum and Tom o Sullivan were recommended to research. Some of the feedback I got was to take the simplicity of the sculptures and bring it back into the paintings. Also interaction with sculptures, separating the paintings and thinking about layout for the exhibition

.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fine Art in Society - Artist talk reflection

•The RCA artist talk included two 2nd year MA painting students. They both gave separate talks explaining what their practice was about. The first artist was Francesca Blomfield, who is a painter, dra

bottom of page